WSOP Winners: Full List of Main Event Winners (1970 - 2018)

WSOP Winners

  • The largest winner in the WSOP Main Event history is Jamie Gold with $12,000
  • The WSOP first World Champion was nominated in a hotel room
  • This article lists all the WSOP Main Event winners in history

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has not always been the glam and popular event they are today.

When everything started back in 1970, the city of Las Vegas counted less than 50 Poker tables and the event attracted only a handful of players.

There were no media or public to follow the event and there were no overnight millionaires to be made at the felt.

Play a €2,500 GTD. Online Poker Event!Play a €2,500 GTD. Online Poker Event!

Join the Showdown Exclusive and play Casino Poker games to win a share of €2,500!

Play Poker hands, accumulate points...and win the leaderboard!

PLAY HERE*T&C’s apply.

If you know the WSOP only for what they have been for the past 15 years or so, you'd be surprised to discover how different everything used to be and how today's inflated number has little to do with 'the good old days.'

Think about this:

In July 2018, America's John Cynn went on to win an $8,800,000 cash prize at the end of a 10-day battle that saw him survive a field of 7,874 WSOP Main Event contestants.

Strategy, bravery, and luck earned Cynn a monster check and the title of Poker World Champion.

In 1970, when the title was first created, Johnny Moss won it...because someone nominated him for it right from the lounge of a Las Vegas hotel room!

The table below shows the winners of the World Series of Poker Main Event tournaments in history.

YearWSOP Main Event Won byMoney Won
1970Johnny MossN/A
1971Johnny Moss$30,000
1972Thomas Preston (aka. Amarillo Slim)$80,000
1973Walter Pearson (aka. Puggy)$130,000
1974Johnny Moss$160,000
1975Brian Roberts$210,000
1976Doyle Brunson (aka. Texas Dolly$220,000
1977Doyle Brunson (aka. Texas Dolly$340,000
1978Bobby Baldwin (aka. The Owl$210,000
1979Hal Fowler$270,000
1980Stu Ungar (aka. The Kid)$385,000
1981Stu Ungar (aka. The Kid)$375,000
1982Jack Straus$520,000
1983Tom McEvoy$540,000
1984Jack Keller$660,000
1985Bill Smith$700,000
1986Berry Johnston$570,000
1987Johnny Chan (aka. Orient Express)$625,000
1988Johnny Chan (aka. Orient Express)$700,000
1989Phil Hellmuth (aka. The Poker Brat$755,000
1990Mansour Matloubi$895,000
1991Brad Daugherty$1,000,000
1992Hamid Dastmalchi$1,000,000
1993Jim Bechtel$1,000,000
1994Russ Hamilton$1,000,0000
1995Dan Harrington (aka. Action Dan)$1,000,000
1996Huck Seed$1,000,000
1997Stu Ungar (aka. The Kid)$1,000,000
1998Scotty Nguyen (aka. The Prince of Poker)$1,000,000
1999Noel Furlong$1,000,000
2000Chris Ferguson (aka. Jesus)$1,500,000
2001Carlos Mortensen (aka. El Matador)$1,500,000
2002Robert Varkonyi$2,000,000
2003Chris Moneymaker$2,500,000
2004Greg Raymer (aka. Fossilman)$5,000,000
2005Joe Hachem$7,500,000
2006Jamie Gold$12,000,0000
2007Jerry Yang (aka. The Shadow$8,250,000
2008Peter Eastgate (aka. Isser$9,152,416
2009Joe Cada$8,574,649
2010Jonathan Duhamel$8,944,138
2011Pius Heinz$8,715,638
2012Greg Merson$8,531,853
2013Ryan Riess$8,359,531
2014Martin Jacobson$10,000,000
2015Joe McKeehen$7,683,346
2016Qui Nguyen$8,005,310
2017Scott Blumstein$8,150,000
2018John Cynn$8,800,000

The 2019 winner of the WSOP Main Event will be nominated in July, at the end of a long and difficult battle that is set to begin on July 3.

The players will have three starting flights to join the event, provided they first pay the $10,000 entry fee.

25 Key Moments in WSOP History25 Key Moments in WSOP History

From the first WSOP winner in history to the player with most WSOP bracelets.

Join us for a journey through the key moments in the World Series of Poker history!

READ MORE*T&C’s apply.

Disclaimer: Gambling is a game of chance and there's no sure-fire formula that guarantee winnings. You can improve your winning chances by using the right in-game strategies but there is no way to predict when a machine or a Casino game is going to pay. Also, this page contains affiliate links. If you click through and play, we might earn a commission. That’s what allow us to keep CasinoSmash free and bring you the best online Casino bonuses!

Bonus info: terms and conditions apply to the offer. If something isn't clear, have a look at our review of Energy Casino for the T&Cs in full. The offer on this article might have expired by the time you read it. Please refer to the review pages for the latest bonuses and promotions available.

Related News

Immediate Bonus: Get Your Free Spins!

Sign up and confirm your email to activate your bonus:

Gambling Aware